Find It Fast

Parents

Parent volunteers work the Senior Commitment Day Breakfast

Stevenson parents play an integral role in supporting our mission “Success for Every Student.” By being an active participant in the education process, parents can support their children to grow and thrive independently, while staying connected with their learning community.

Communication with Families

Dear Class of 2022 Students & Parent(s)/Guardian(s):

On Wednesday, October 20th, Stevenson is encouraging all families to engage in a “Let’s Talk About Your Future” discussion. While our freshman, sophomore, and junior students are engaging in family conversations about the 2022-23 course selection process, we hope to create an opportunity for our seniors and their parents to have conversations about their plans for after high school. We know that post-secondary planning and discussions are ongoing; however, we are hopeful that this evening will provide students and their families an opportunity to connect about these topics during a busy time of the school year.  This will be a “no homework” evening to provide time for these conversations.

Some topics that may be helpful to consider during your family conversations include:

  • Where are you in the college application process? Be mindful of the components and deadlines for each application.

  • What type of support do you need with your post-secondary plans? Schedule an appointment with your school counselor or one of our CCC post-secondary counselors.  Calendly links to schedule appointments are located on the Student Services website.

  • Do your post-secondary plans include options besides college?

  • Learn more about opportunities provided through our Career Exploration Program

  • Consider attending a Gap Year Fair.  More information regarding potential fairs and their formats will be posted here as it becomes available

  • If you would like additional information about a career in the military, representatives from many of our military branches and academies will be visiting SHS during the week of November 8th-12th.  

  • How will your family be meeting the FAFSA graduation requirement?  The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) opened on October 1st and may now be completed for the 2022-23 school year. As we shared with families in an email on 9/21, the Illinois State Board of Education has changed graduation requirements for the class of 2022.  To graduate from SHS, all students must complete one of the following:

More resources regarding financial aid may be found on the CCC website.  In addition, the Illinois Student Assistance Commission provides SHS with a representative who is able to meet individually with students and families to provide assistance with the FAFSA completion process.  Families may book a remote appointment with our ISAC representative, Alexis Alvarez,  alexis.alvarez@illinois.gov, (847) 376-9638 .

Please know that SHS school counselors and post-secondary counselors are here throughout the school year to provide support and guidance with the post-secondary planning process. Should you have any questions/concerns, please contact your counselor. 

 

Kind Regards,

 

Sarah Bowen
Director of Student Services

Family Engagement Calendar

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat/Sun
Mon, Nov 29
Tue, Nov 30
Tri-M Music Honor Society Benefit Concert
Stevenson High School | West Auditorium
Wed, Dec 1
Study Skills and Strategies for Learning
Virtual Meeting via Zoom
Thu, Dec 2
Fri, Dec 3
Sat, Dec 4
Sun, Dec 5
Tue, Dec 7
BPO Meeting
Midi Lab 2201
Wed, Dec 8
Thu, Dec 9
Fri, Dec 10
Sat, Dec 11
Sun, Dec 12
Mon, Dec 13
Talking with Your Teen - Building Conversations
Virtual Meeting via Zoom
Tue, Dec 14
Wed, Dec 15
Supporting Your Teen Through Making Decisions
Virtual Meeting via Zoom
Thu, Dec 16
Building Empathy Within the Family
Virtual Meeting via Zoom
Fri, Dec 17
Sat, Dec 18
Sun, Dec 19
Mon, Dec 20
Tue, Dec 21
Wed, Dec 22
Thu, Dec 23
Fri, Dec 24
Sat, Dec 25
Sun, Dec 26
Mon, Dec 27
Tue, Dec 28
Wed, Dec 29
Thu, Dec 30
Fri, Dec 31
Sat, Jan 1
Sun, Jan 2

Receive Notifications From SHS

News Alerts

When needed, we use email, telephone messages and on occasion text messages to notify students, parents and guardians of significant schedule changes, emergency alerts or time-sensitive information that requires attention. When sending this communication we use the email addresses and telephone numbers entered during registration.

To check or change the contact information we send this communication to, we suggest logging into Infinite Campus (IC) to make sure the email and cell phone numbers listed for you are current. Once you are logged into IC, click on the 'More' menu item and then select 'Family Information' where you can make any updates. Parents who do not have an account can request access to Infinite Campus online and anyone having difficulty logging into the IC portal should contact the Data Processing Department at data_processing@d125.org.

Text Notifications

Parents and guardians new to Stevenson who would like to receive text notifications from Stevenson High School can sign up by texting Y to 67587. In order to receive text notifications, the number you opt in from must be in our Infinite Campus database. To verify your number is in our Infinite Campus database, please read these instructionsPlease Note: Text notifications will always be used in conjunction with voice and email communications. Texting will never be used as a sole mode of communication.

Canvas for Parents

Stevenson High School has moved to an electronic learning management system: Canvas.

Canvas provides a one-stop platform for students to access course materials, grades and communications. Moreover, Canvas provides many different tools to support learning in engaging, collaborative, and informative ways.

Canvas allows parents and guardians to “pair” accounts with their students so student courses are viewable. This feature allows for parents and guardians to view course descriptions, information, materials, resources and student grades.

The video above describes how to access your student’s pairing code; and how to use the code to “pair” with your student’s Canvas account so that your student’s courses are viewable.

Home Language Survey

The state of Illinois requires schools to collect a Home Language Survey from every new student. This information is used to count the number of students whose families speak a language other than English at home. It also helps to identify the students who need to be assessed for English language proficiency. Parents and guardians of new students should complete the survey in one of the languages below and return it to Stevenson.

English
Chinese
Japanese
Korean
Russian
Spanish